As mentioned in the previous chapter, it often is necessary, to import data of the databaseinto a .gpn file in order, to be able to zu work offline. Untis MultiUser provides you with a comfortable possibility to import data which you have changed offline into the database without overwriting the changes you have carried out in the database.
Merging changes only works, if the .gpn file has been exported out of the MultiUser mode before the merging. If the .gpn file has not been created this way, the respective menu item is greyed out and inactive. When merging is started, it automatically takes the data set of the database out of which the data has been exported prior to the merging. If it is not existent any more, an error message occurs.
A working process looks the following:
- Exporting of data from the database to a .gpn file.
Now you can work data sets in both separately.
Do not change terms while the merging process is ongoing, otherwise the merging of data cannot be carried out. Make sure that any changes of terms are carried out before you export any data to the .gpn file.
- If you want data to be merged back again, open the .gpn file and select the respective menu item "Modules | MultiUser | Merge in database“.
- A dialogue window pops up, and you are asked to enter your user name and password. Ifyou have checked the box "Log inafter completion", you are automatically logged in after the data merging has been completed.
- Untis now compares every table saved in the database to the data saved in the .gpn file regarding any changes. Whenever any changes are found in a table (master data, lessons, holidays, etc.), you are asked whether the changes are to be carried out or not.
In the following an example:
The columns "in gpn" and "in DB" show whether this element exists in the .gpn file or in the database. The teachers Hugo, Callas, Nobel and Rubens therefore exist in both data sets. Their entire data sets were changed in the database (last change was carried out by the user "Administrator", as you can see in the column "User") this is why they are highlighted in red. The data of the teachers Cervantes and Newton, however, were changed in the .gpn file only and therefore neither is highlighted in red.
In the example above, teacher Cervantes was created anew in the .gpn file (or was deleted in the database), this is the reason why there is a tick only in the box of the "in gpn" column . Newton, however, was deleted in the .gpn file or was created anew in the database, and therefore only has a tick in the box of the "in DB" column. Now select the changes you want to export to the database in the "Export" column and confirm by clicking on the <Merge selected elements> button.
The box in the "Export" column always refers to the .gpn file. If you tick this box for all elements, all changes which have been made in the meantime will be discarded; in the example, teacher Newton was deleted from the database.
It is not indicated here, which data have been changed (time requests, flags, etc.), you only see, which elements have been changed.
Changes in views imported from Untis or from substitution planning will not to be exported.
How to merge timetables
Changes of a definition or in the scheduling of lessons are shown in two different dialogue windows. In the figure below you see that there is only a change (L.No. 6) in the database, and some changes in the .gpn file. The columns "Classes", "Teachers" and "Subjects" solely refer to the definition in the .gpn file.
If changes have been carried out in the timetable, they will be shown in a separate dialogue window.
As you can see in the figure, the scheduling of a lesson has been changed in the database (No.90). In the .gpn file, however, several lessons have been changed.
The positions shown in the time grid in the "Scheduling" column refer to scheduling in the .gpn file.
How to merge substitution data
Any changes in substitution planning, or changes of the settings carried out under "Settings | Calendar", can only be imported completely or not at all.
How to change terms
If terms were created, changed or deleted in the .gpn file or the database, the data cannot be merged. Make sure that you create a possible new term before you start the export to the .gpn file.